CEP 810: Final NLP Blog

Knitting is something I always wanted to do, but kept bumping it down on my LONG To-Do List. When were required to learn a new skill using only YouTube and help forums for CEP 810, I decided that I would finally MAKE time and learn how to knit a hat.

YouTube has PLENTY of videos that I could see making many do-it-yourself videos quite easy. Of course, you also have to be a savvy consumer (or in this case, watcher.) I previewed a couple of videos before I settled on Howcast’s How to Knit a Hat. I liked the fact that not only did it outline each step on their website, but it also showed a video what each step of the hat should look like when completed. However, this particular video did not include more basic steps like casting-on and HOW to knit and purl, so I settled on ExpressionFiberArts’ videos How to Knit- Absolute Beginner Knitting and How to Purl. These two videos were very beneficial because the instructor is very clear and careful, and demonstrates steps multiple times in multiple ways.

One benefit I can see in using YouTube to learn a new skill is that, due to the nature of the technology, you truly CAN learn at your own pace. Missed step 3? Rewind the video. Taking long to complete a step? Pause the video. Because of these features, I didn’t have too much difficulty when it came to following ExpressionFiberArts’ directions for casting-on stitches to a needle and the concept of knitting itself. Since I was cognizant of evaluating my resources for quality, I believe it made my learning much quicker and easier.

The biggest obstacle to completing this project was actually myself. If I had chosen a project that only involved knitting – say, like a dish towel or scarf – I probably would have been able to complete the project much more quickly and without as much frustration. However, the hat pattern calls for a combination of knitting and purling – both the rib and stockinette stitches. Since purling is the OPPOSITE of knitting, in the beginning I would drop stitches. In addition, the bottom of the hat involves knitting an inch of rib stitches – knit 1, purl 1, repeat – and I can’t tell you how many times I screwed up this pattern. My original hat looked terrible, and – extremely frustrated – I started over completely. However, with perseverance and practice, I was able to complete my hat over a week and a half. Practice makes perfect (just ignore the couple of rows that look a bit different from the others!)

After experiencing learning this way, I can definitely see using technology to better myself and my students. The fact that there are so many sources gives learners a choice in finding the teaching style that works best for them. It’s also beneficial in that a student can learn at his or her own pace. Need to see a math problem again? Press replay. Videos are a fantastic resource to use when one-on-one assistance isn’t possible, and I plan to reinforce this resource to my students, especially when it comes to math. In this way, YouTube and forums are greatly beneficial when it comes to learning…

…until you find yourself in a spot where you aren’t exactly sure WHAT you’re doing wrong. I was fortunate in that I was able to eventually get my knits and purls to match what was shown on the screen. However, it would’ve been much faster to have a teacher watch me in real-time and help diagnose exactly what I was doing wrong. With resources like Skype and Facetime, having an online mentor is possible. I understand the parameters and purpose of this lesson, but in the future, I will expand my network to use other resources to learn skills. I hope that when students are introduced to using ALL of their resources – including videos – that they will be able to increase their success as lifelong learners.     

    

Leave a comment