CEP 812 Week 4: Meeting the Needs of Our Diverse Learners

Dyslexia is a disability that makes it difficult for the brain to recognize and process letters and words. This particular disorder is more commonly known among educators, but what about a similar disability known as dysgraphia? Dysgraphia is a type of learning disability that makes it difficult for people to express themselves through written language. Read my white paper about potential causes and implications for people with dysgraphia.

Thankfully, there are several tools available that allow students with dysgraphia to help better process their ideas. Dictation tools – both paid and free – offer ways for learners to show their true understanding when writing is not an obstacle. Watch my voice to text demonstration using the free website Dictation.io.

One thought on “CEP 812 Week 4: Meeting the Needs of Our Diverse Learners

  1. Christine,

    I really enjoyed reading your white paper and viewing your screencast. My topic was dyslexia, but I read briefly about dysgraphia and dyscalculia while doing my research.

    For the last two years I have had at least one student in my class who struggled with writing and I could never figure out why! These students had the ideas, but had great difficulty getting their ideas written down. I wish I would have viewed your screencast two years ago so I could have had them use the site you recommended! I really liked how you could say “full stop” to insert punctuation. I think that could help ANY student because even in 3rd grade they still forget their punctuation and ending marks, and this way, they really have to think about their writing and their sentence structure.

    I think it is really helpful that it spells correctly too. Many times I will tell students to “spell it as best you can” and I’m sure that is not helping my students who struggle with writing to begin with. They may spend all of their time trying to spell a few words correctly rather than getting their thoughts down on paper.

    Very informative. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment